Duran Duran - Seven And The Ragged Tiger [LP] (Pre-Order)



Label Rhino/Parlophone
Format LP Vinyl
Release Date 7/19/2024
Genre Rock


Third Studio Album Reissued on Vinyl LP!
Featuring "The Reflex," "Union of the Snake" & "New Moon on Monday"!

Seven and the Ragged Tiger is the third studio album by Duran Duran, originally released in 1983 through EMI and Capitol Records. Co-produced by Alex Sadkin, Ian Little and the band, recording sessions took place in France, the Caribbean and Australia between April and October 1983 following Duran Duran's decision to record outside the UK as tax exiles. Unlike their previous two studio albums, the sessions were marred by a lack of productivity and tensions rose between the band members over its direction.

Wanting a change in direction from their previous album Rio, Seven and the Ragged Tiger is a synth-pop and dance-driven record, with emphasis on synthesiser-based textures. The lyrics are ambiguous and cover a variety of topics; lead vocalist Simon Le Bon described the album as "an adventure story about a little commando team". The title refers to the five band members and their two managers; the "ragged tiger" meaning success. The cover artwork was shot at the State Library of New South Wales and designed by Malcolm Garrett.

The album was a commercial success, becoming the band's first and only UK number one album. It also charted at number eight in the US, eventually going double platinum. It yielded three singles: "Union of the Snake", "New Moon on Monday" and a remix of "The Reflex" by Nile Rodgers, a UK and US number one.

Keep in mind: If your order includes in-stock albums with pre-orders, your order will ship once all items are available. All pre-orders ship upon release date.