Bad Brains - Black Dots [LP](Pre-Order)



Label UMG
Format LP Vinyl
Release Date 7/30/2021
Genre Rock


Bad Brains' Black Dots is the first official studio recording for the seminal punk rock artists. This is the first official reissue in over 20 years, presented by Wax Audio Group and ThinkIndie via Universal Music Group Special Markets. Cut for vinyl by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Mastering, Print and Packaging from Pirates Press. Pressed at RTI. First pressing: One time world wide pressing of 1500 units on WHITE VINYL. Second pressing: Black vinyl ''Surfacing out of nowhere in 1996, Black Dots turned out to be an archival release of the best kind, something truly rare and unheard that also captured a band at its best. The liner notes explain the origins of the release: In 1979, fellow DC locals the Slickee Boys heard an even earlier rehearsal tape from the Brains and suggested hooking up with now-legendary DC producer Don Zientara, who had recently opened his Inner Ear Studios in his house.

The group duly booked time, set up in the fledging venue and put on a commanding performance. Nearly all the legendary early hits are here, including ''Pay to Cum,'' ''Don't Need It,'' ''Regulator,'' ''Banned in D.C.,'' ''How Low Can a Punk Get?'' and ''Attitude,'' while a number of otherwise unheard or never-recorded elsewhere numbers make Black Dots easily the equal of the ROIR cassette. Some of the changes and quirks are really fun -- H.R.'s mock-cockney sneer throughout a number of songs is one of the last things probably anybody expected to hear. Aside from ''new'' oldie ''The Man Won't Annoy Ya,'' the reggae side of the band went largely by the boards this time around, aside from the reedy inflections HR throws in from time to time. Instead it's all monster-rock power -- Dr. Know plays like a man possessed, Darryl Aaron Jenifer does it low and loud, while Earl Hudson overcomes for the slightly hollow drum sound with sheer manic smashes and just enough control. Absolutely necessary for Brains fans or anyone who appreciates the power of live, loud electric music.-Allmusic'' 


1. Don't Need It (Demo Version)

2. At The Atlantis (Demo Version)

3. Pay To Cum (Demo Version)

4. Supertouch / Shitfit (Demo Version)

5. Regulator (Demo Version)

6. You're A Migraine (Demo Version)

7. Don't Bother Me (Demo Version)

8. Banned In D.C (Demo Version)

9. Why'd You Have To Go? (Demo Version)

10. The Man Won't Annoy Ya (Demo Version)

11. Redbone In The City (Demo Version)

12. Black Dots (Demo Version)

13. How Low Can A Punk Get? (Demo Version)

14. Just Another Damn Song (Demo Version)

15. Attitude (Demo Version)

16. Send You No Flowers (Demo Version)

Keep in mind: If your order includes in-stock albums with pre-orders, your order will ship once all items are available. All pre-orders ship upon release date.