Warsaw (Joy Division) - Warsaw [LP] (Transparent Colored 180 Gram Vinyl, 5 Bonus Tracks, limited to 1000, import)(Pre-Order)



Label Vinyl Passion
Format LP Vinyl
Release Date 5/10/2024
Genre Post Punk

  • Limited to 1,000 Copies!
  • 180g Transparent Vinyl!
  • Includes 5 Bonus Tracks!

The highly acclaimed U.K. post-punk band Joy Division was originally called Warsaw. Formed in Manchester, England in the late 1970s, the group consisted of Ian Curtis on vocals, Bernard Albrecht (aka Sumner, aka Dicken) on guitar, Peter Hook on bass and Stephen Morris on drums. Hook, Albrecht and Curtis hooked up at a local concert and later formed the group Warsaw. The band's name was taken from a David Bowie-Brian Eno composition, "Warszawa." The five bonus tracks on this album are demos cut by the group at Pennine Studios in Manchester on July 18, 1977 with Steve Brotherdale on drums. The first eleven tracks presented here were the result of a recording session for that album that took place in early May of 1978. Rehearsals leading up to the session resulted in two new songs being added to the group's existing repertoire: "Interzone" and "Transmission." "Interzone" was based on the backing track of the song "Keep On Keepin' On," to which the band added their own lyrics. The result was a song distinctively their own. "Transmission" was written by the band during the final week of rehearsals. The first verse contains a quotation from Aleister Crowley's The Book of Thoth. The two recordings are interesting renditions of songs which would later become famous.

-Limited one per customer 

Keep in mind: If your order includes in-stock albums with pre-orders, your order will ship once all items are available. All pre-orders ship upon release date.